Skip to content Skip to navigation

Call for Beckman Award Nominations

News Date: Wednesday, May 1, 2024 - 13:45

Attached please find the call for nominations for the 2024 Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award (Beckman Award).  I encourage you to recommend current or former academic faculty members who have inspired their former students to make a significant contribution to society by (1) creating an organization that has demonstrably conferred a benefit to the community at large; or (2) establishing on a lasting basis a concept, procedure, or movement of comparable benefit to the community at large. I also hope that you will pass this announcement on to your respective listservs and colleagues. Recipients of this award receive $25,000 (taxable income) and typically people have used the award monies to further their programs and organizations or those of their mentee. Many APA members have been proud recipients of this honor over the years.


Of the 140 Beckman Award winners (2010 – 2023), 88 colleges and universities are represented. Psychology is the field of study most represented (51%), followed by medicine (18%), other (Social Work, Education, Social Justice, Public Health, Geography, History; 17%), and law (14%). Since its inception, the Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award Trust has distributed over $3.6 million in cash awards.


The deadline for nominations is June 15, 2024, at 5:00pm EST. The application form is also attached. For more details about the application/nomination process and required supporting materials, please visit materials include Cover Letter (optional), Former Student Personal Narrative Part I, Former Student Personal Narrative Part II, and Letter of Support. 


If you have any questions, please contact me at


Thank you in advance for nominating deserving psychologists.


Follow Us

Facebook IconTwitter Icon